

3.5

Decision EEA/BU/2021/001

LIST OF DECISIONS AND GUIDANCE 87TH BUREAU MEETING, 28 JANUARY 2021

Agenda item		Outcome	Comments	
	Opening of the meeting	The Chair welcomed participants and highlighted upcoming changes in Bureau representatives and temporary changes in the MB Secretariat.	This was the last Bureau meeting for Artur Runge-Metzger (DG CLIMA). Due to organisational changes in the Icelandic Ministry for the Environment and Natural resources, Herdís Schopka will move on to a new role. Further to this change, Bergþóra Njála Guðmundsdóttir will take over the role of non-EU observer in the Bureau following her nomination as EEA Management Board member for Iceland. Jasmiina Laurmaa from the MB Secretariat will be on maternity leave from mid-February to the end of August 2021. During this period, Marisa Turanzas will take over the MB	
			Secretariat function.	
1	FOR ADOPTION Agenda of the 87th	The meeting agenda was adopted.	The meeting agenda is included in	
1	Bureau meeting	me meeting agenua was adopted.	Annex 1.	
	FOR BUREAU ORIENTATION			
2	Resourcing of Eionet	The Bureau endorsed the establishment of a Management Board Advisory Committee to guide the mapping of Eionet resources in the countries and the proposed timing for the mapping process, to be completed by the extraordinary MB meeting of 16 September 2021. The Bureau recommended that the Advisory Committee should involve a few National Focal Points and European Commission observers (DG ENV and DG CLIMA) alongside Management Board members.	The MB Secretariat will launch a call for expressions of interest amongst MB members with the aim to establish the Advisory Committee for the mapping of Eionet resources.	
		The Bureau advised that any duplication of work between the Advisory Committee and the Eionet Modernisation Working Group should be avoided.		



Agenda item		Outcome	Comments	
	FOR BUREAU GUIDANG			
3	Standing agenda point: UK withdrawal from the European Union	The Bureau took note of the latest developments on the withdrawal of the UK from the European Union, namely on corrections of UK data collected in 2020, and the collection of air quality data.	The standing agenda point will not be on future Bureau agendas, given that the withdrawal of the UK from the EU has occurred.	
4	Initial draft Single Programming Document 2022-2024	The Bureau adopted the initial draft Single Programming Document 2022- 2024 for submission to the EU institutions.	EEA will update the SPD annexes on human and financial resources prior to the submission to the EU institutions, in line with the changes presented to the Bureau.	
		The Bureau highlighted that it is essential for EEA to discuss and agree on resource elements with the European Commission in the next steps of the process.		
	FOR INFORMATION			
5	Feedback from Bureau members	Artur Runge-Metzger thanked the Bureau, the Management Board and EEA staff for the fulfilling collaboration. The Bureau thanked Artur for his valuable contributions and active engagement throughout the years.		

The meeting closed at 15:15

Approved by the EEA Bureau at its 87th meeting MS Teams video conference, 28 January 2021

[Signed]

Laura Burke Chair, EEA Management Board

Annexes

- Annex 1: Final agenda of 87th Bureau meeting, 28 January 2021
- Annex 2: Participants list, 87th Bureau meeting, 28 January 2021



Annex 1:

Agenda of the 87th Bureau meeting Thursday, 28 January 2021, 14:00-15:00 CET, Microsoft Teams

AGENDA ITEM	DOCUMENTS
FOR ADOPTION	
1. Agenda of the 87th Bureau meeting	EEA/BU/87/01

FOR BUREAU ORIENTATION	
2. Resourcing of Eionet	EEA/BU/87/02

FOR BUREAU GUIDANCE	
3. Standing agenda point: UK withdrawal from the European Union	[Verbal update]
4. Initial draft Single Programming Document 2022-2024	EEA/BU/87/04

FOR INFORMATION	
5. Feedback from Bureau members	[Verbal update]



Annex 2: Participants list 87th Bureau meeting, Thursday, 28 January 2021

Name	Role	Represented country/organisation	Attendance
Laura Burke	Chair	Ireland	Present
Alda Ozola	Vice-Chair	Latvia	Present
Julia Werner	Vice-Chair	Germany	Present
André Weidenhaupt	Vice-Chair	Luxembourg	Present
Michal Pastvinsky	Vice-Chair	Czech Republic	Present
Lena Neij		European Parliament representative	Present
Gilles Gantelet		European Commission (DG ENV)	Present
Guests/observers			
Artur Runge-Metzger		European Commission (DG CLIMA)	Present
Jürgen Salay		European Commission (DG CLIMA)	Present
Josiane Masson		European Commission (DG ENV)	Present
Herdís Schopka		Observer from non-EU Member State (Iceland)	Present
Bergþóra Njála Guðmundsdóttir		Observer from non-EU Member State (Iceland)	Present
EEA participants			Present
Hans Bruyninckx		EEA	Present
Teresa Ribeiro		EEA	Present
Soren Nielsen		EEA	Present
Chris Steenmans		EEA	Present
Katja Rosenbohm		EEA	Present
Jock Martin		EEA	Present
Martin Adams		EEA	Present
Eva Jensen		EEA	Present
Riyong Kim		EEA	Present
Milan Chrenko		EEA	Present
Tim Haigh		EEA	Present
Jasmiina Laurmaa		EEA/ MB Secretariat	Present
Marisa Turanzas		EEA/ MB Secretariat	Present